Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories
A taste of China
A taste of China
Ancient Places
City Guides
Cultural Heritage
Food & Drink
Modern China
Natural Attractions
Street Food
Trip Ideas
What to eat


China’s visa-free transit policy

By Weiwei Guan

April 25

Passport holders from 51 countries can now enjoy visa-free transit through 18 cities.

Passport holders from 51 countries can now enjoy visa-free transit through 18 cities.


Passport holders from 51 countries can now enjoy visa-free transit through 18 cities, including Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou, Chongqing, Shenyang, Hangzhou, Xi’an, Tianjin, Wuhan, Nanjing, Dalian, Guilin, Kunming, Chengdu, Harbin, Xiamen, Qingdao and Changsha.

Passengers with valid international traveling documents and an onward ticket with confirmed seating and a third country (region) arrival date can apply for a 144-hour transit visa exemption when entering Shanghai, Hangzhou and Nanjing since January 30th, 2016. A 72-hour transit visa exemption is available for other cities.

Travelers from the following countries may apply for the 72-hour transit visa exemption:

  • 24 Schengen countries:

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.

  • 13 other European countries:

Russia, United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, Albania.

  • 6 North and South American countries:

Unites States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile.

  • 2 Oceania countries:

Australia, New Zealand.

  • 6 Asian countries:

South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, United Arab Emirates, Qatar.

What documents are required?

According to the Chinese Ministry of Public Security, when entering China via Beijing Capital International Airport, foreign passengers who meet all following requirements can apply for transit visa exemption after confirmed by Beijing border officials:

No.1 Applicants must be from a country listed in the 72-hour Transit Visa Exemption Program;

No.2 Travelers must have valid international traveling documents to prove their nationality and identity;

No.3 Passengers must be eligible to enter the destination country (region);

No.4 Passengers must hold an onward ticket with confirmed seating and an arrival date (within 72 hours) to a third country (region);

No.5 The passenger’s airline must declare the request to border control authorities.

  • Share this
  • Send this

Follow Discover China


Related Articles